II Gazprom Neft Cup KHL Youth Ice Hockey Tournament


Khanty-Mansiysk 6teams
Avangard logoAvangard
Gazovik logoHC Gazovik
Югра-Олимпиец (Ханты-Мансийск)Ugra Olympiyetz

The 2nd Gazprom Neft Cup tournament takes place in Khanty-Mansiysk in 2008, with six teams competing at the Arena Yugra. Omsk’s Avangard take the trophy.

In 2008, at the invitation of Khanty-Mansi Autonomous Okrug Governor Yuri Alexander Filippenko, the second Gazprom Neft Cup ice hockey tournament was held in Khanty-Mansiysk, from October 29th to November 3rd.

Six teams competed at the new Arena Ugra Sports Centre, representing various regions throughout Russia: HC Avangard (Omsk Oblast), Yamal-97/98 (Yamalo-Nenets Autonomous Okrug), HC Gazovik (Tumen Oblast), HC Ugra Olympiyetz (Khanty-Mansi Autonomous Okrug), and SKA Peterhof (St Petersburg).

The gala opening ceremony included a friendly between the “Elite Ugra” and “USSR Hockey Legends” teams (the latter including Alexei Marin, Vladimir Lutchenko, Yuri Blinov, the Golikov brothers, Victor Shalimov, Evgeny Davydov, Yuri Shatalov and other national hockey stars) as well as an ice show featuring European and world champion Irina Slutskaya and Olympic ice dance champions Roman Kostomarov and Tatiana Navka.

In addition to this, spectators were also shown trophies won by Russian teams this year — the UEFA Cup and UEFA Super Cup, won by football team FC Zenit, and the Men’s World Ice Hockey Championship trophy, won by our national team in Canada.

The main prize of the tournament — the Gazprom Neft Cup — was won by HC Avangard (Omsk Oblast), with second place going to HC Gazovik (Tyumen Oblast) and third place to Ugra Olympiyetz (Khanty-Mansi Autonomous Okrug).


Avangard (Omsk Oblast) Avangard Omsk Oblast
Gazovik (Tumen Oblast) Gazovik Tumen Oblast
Ugra Olympiyetz (Khanty-Mansi Autonomous Okrug) Ugra Olympiyetz Khanty-Mansi Autonomous Okrug
SKA Peterhof (St Petersburg) SKA Peterhof St Petersburg
Yamal (Yamalo-Nenets Autonomous Okrug) Yamal Yamalo-Nenets Autonomous Okrug
Smena (Tomsk Oblast) Smena Tomsk Oblast

Tournament leaders

Gleb Medvedko Ugra Olympiyetz Best goalkeeper
Gleb Medvedko Ugra Olympiyetz
Best goalkeeper
Mark Petrov SKA Peterhof Best defender
Mark Petrov SKA Peterhof
Best defender
Egor Babenko Gazovik Best player
Egor Babenko Gazovik
Best player
General partner
Official insurer