IV Gazprom Neft Cup KHL Youth Ice Hockey Tournament


Omsk 8participants
Avangard logoAvangard
Gazovik logoGazovik

The 4th Gazprom Neft Cup is the first to be held under the auspices of the KHL, in 2010. The number of teams participating reaches eight, with tournament games taking place at the Avangard Hockey Centre Arena and the opening and closing matches at the Arena Omsk.

April 22nd to 25th 2010 saw the fourth annual Gazprom Neft KHL Youth Ice Hockey Tournament under the auspices of the Kontinental Hockey League (KHL).

Taking part in the tournament were eight teams, each comprising players born between 1999 and 2000: HC Avangard (Omsk), HC Gazovik (Tyumen), HC Lokomotiv (Yaroslavl), HC Neftyanik-Yugra (Khanty-Mansi Autonomous Okrug), Silver Lions (St Petersburg), HC Sibir (Novosibirsk), HC CSKA (Moscow) and HC Yamal (Yamalo-Nenets Autonomous Okrug).

Competition matches were held at the Avangard Hockey Centre ice rink, and the opening and closing ceremonies, as well as the final matches, at the Omsk Arena.

The opening ceremony included figure skating stars performing their best numbers — Olympic and multiple world and European champions Alexei Yagudin, Elena Berezhnaya, Ilya Kulik, Andrei Khvalko and Elena Leonova, as well as French champion and European and world medal winner Jerome Blanchard. A match was also held between a team of “USSR Hockey Legends” and a select team of HC Avangard veterans, with master sportsmen including multiple world champions and Olympic winners and medal holders Vladimir Golikov, Yuri Lyapkin, Victor Shalimov, Yuri Shatalov, Sergei Makarov and others appearing on the ice.

As well as the official matches held under the auspices of the tournament, master classes were also held for young pucksters, as well as competitions to find the best-trained teams — in terms of both technical ability and physical fitness.

The Cup was won by Avangard, Omsk, who became two-time winners of the tournament. Second place went to Tyumen hockey players HC Gazovik, and third place to Moscow’s CSKA.

Final league tables

Avangard (Omsk) Avangard Omsk
Gazovik (Tyumen) Gazovik Tyumen
CSKA (Moscow) CSKA Moscow
Lokomotiv (Yaroslavl) Lokomotiv Yaroslavl
Neftyanik-Yugra (Khanty-Mansiysk Autonomous Okrug) Neftyanik-Yugra Khanty-Mansiysk Autonomous Okrug
Sibir (Novosibirsk) Sibir Novosibirsk
Silver Lions (Saint Petersburg) Silver Lions Saint Petersburg
Yamal (Yamalo-Nenets Autonomous Okrug) Yamal Yamalo-Nenets Autonomous Okrug

Tournament leaders

Georgii Podalinskii CSKA Best goalkeeper
Nikita Aleksandrov Gazovik Best defender
Maksim Guryev Lokomotiv Best forward
Erik Blinov Avangard Top scorer
Aleksandr Yaremchuk Neftyanik-Yugra Best player
Viktor Arkhipov Avangard Best coach
General partner
Official insurer