V Gazprom Neft Cup KHL Youth Ice Hockey Tournament


Omsk 12participants
Traktor logoTraktor
Lokomotiv logoLokomotiv
Metallurg logoMetallurg

The 5th Gazprom Neft Cup is accorded the status of the official kids’ hockey tournament of the KHL. A unique trophy is made for the tournament (which this year has a total 12 teams taking part), won by Chelaybinsk’s Traktor.

The winner of Kids Gazprom Neft Cup
Hockey Tournament

April 24, 2011 marked the end of the Gazprom Neft Cup KHL Youth Ice Hockey Tournament — the first time the event had been held as an official youth tournament of the Kontinental Hockey League. This trophy — held by the winning team until the following season, and made by the same master craftsmen as the Gagarin Cup — bears the name of the first tournament winners, HC Traktor, Chelyabinsk. Silver medals were won by hockey players from HC Lokomotiv, Yaroslavl, and bronze by players from Metallurg, Magnitogorsk.

The 2011 tournament brought together 200 youth players from 12 hockey clubs.

Another first was the live transmission of the final on KHL-TV — which meant this gripping match could be seen not just by Russians, but also international satellite viewers in numerous countries worldwide.

A further increase in the number of participating teams is planned for 2012 —with invitations even going to international KHL clubs.

The final state of teams

Traktor (Chelyabinsk) Traktor Chelyabinsk
Lokomotiv (Yaroslavl) Lokomotiv Yaroslavl
Metallurg (Magnitogorsk) Metallurg Magnitogorsk
Ak Bars (Kazan) Ak Bars Kazan
Gazovik (Tyumen) Gazovik Tyumen
Salavat Ulaev (Ufa) Salavat Ulaev Ufa
Avangard (Omsk) Avangard Omsk
Avtomobilist (Ekaterinburg) Avtomobilist Ekaterinburg
Ugra (Khanty-Mansiysk) Ugra Khanty-Mansiysk
Sibir (Novosibirsk) Sibir Novosibirsk
Yamal (ЯНАО) Yamal Salekhard
SKA (St. Petersburg) SKA St. Petersburg

Tournament leaders

Nikita Kamishnikov Metallurg Best goalkeeper
Bogdan Zhilyarkov Traktor Best defender
Kirill Tarasov Lokomotiv Best forward
Andrei Svechnikov Ak Bars Top scorer
Semyon Astashevskii Avangard Best player
Oleg Tauber Gazovik Best coach
General partner
Official insurer